2019-03-22T16:12:30-04:00 2019-03-22T14:25:42-04:00

The Slice, Episode 26 [Urban Feature]

There are some of us dedicated to rummaging the inner regions of the web in search of that good alternative urban music and serving it directly to music lovers. This initiative is what we call "The Slice" at EARMILK. Every fortnight we share with you ten or more ear-grabbing songs from genres ranging from hip-hop, grime, soul, afrobeat/pop and dancehall. So let us do the digging for you while you sit back and relax to some brilliantly crafted music from around the globe.

If you dig what you hear, you can revisit our previous episodes of "The Slice" here.

Eeva - "Hard-Boiled Wonderland"

Serbian soul singer Eeva packs a walloping emotional punch on her new record titled "Hard-Boiled Wonderland." The angelic-voiced singer delivers a laid back, reflective R&B/Neo-soul jam laced with nostalgia-inducing vibes. Inspired by the title of her favorite Murakami book Hard-Boiled Wonderland And The End Of The World, the singer longs for past love and the desire to experience genuine connection. "Hard-Boiled Wonderland" is the title track off her EP of the same name. Eeva selected the beats and samples, and edited, mixed, and recorded the EP all herself.

Echo The Guru - "Ajuru"

Nigerian producer Echo The Guru shares his new record titled "Ajuru" - a very experimental take on music in general. He blends Afrocentric elements, electronic textures, and takes it to new heights with solid pulsating drums and eerie vocal samples. 

Trizz - "Thanos"

Trizz shares a cryptic video for his single "Thanos," taken from the rapper's new LP The Basement. The album follows up 2018's The Attic. On "Thanos," Trizz teams up with producer Stone's Neighbor who crafts an ominous backdrop for the horrorcore styled lyrics and mysterious demeanor.

Tonio Sagan - "The Future"

"The Future" is the lead single from the forthcoming album In The Garden by vocalist/producer Tonio Sagan (grandson of the late famed astronomer Carl Sagan). Sagan speaks over a psychedelic, bass-heavy hip-hop production on the future of human technological progress, contextualized by his own ego. The record includes musical contributions from Michael Wilbur (of Moon Hooch) on saxophone, Dan Thomas on guitar, Chris Ball on bass, Ian Cooper-Pettys rocks the drum kit (breakbeat section) and vocals/production by Tonio Sagan. 

Catch The Fade - "Everything They Can't Be"

Baltimore, MD-based duo Catch The Fade is made up of producer/emcee Ronald "Ron" James and emcee Taron "Sir Tizzy" Holder. "Everything They Can't Be" is a pure showcase of skills from the duo as they go back and forth over a classic Isaac Hayes sample. "Everything They Can't Be" is from their EP Black and Highly Favored.


Anon - "Medicated"

UK emcee Anon gets personal on his new record "Medicated" where he addresses mental health challenges. The single sees him teaming up with producer TKBeatz and instrumentalist The Grime Violinist who both craft the perfect somber backdrop for Anon's brutally honest lyrics and emotion-filled performance. The visuals accentuate the song's message, with its depiction of a man going through struggles whilst trying to upkeep a brave smile for his daughter. The "to be continued" sign at the end suggests he has more to say on this subject.


SHY FX - "Bad After We"  featuring. Ghetts & Kojey Radical

Legend, soundman, DJ and all-around UK pioneer Shy FX teams up with Ghetts and Kojey Radical on the gritty "Bad After We." The track showcases the trio's respective rap styles that range from fiery and dynamic to unorthodox. "Bad After We" is lifted from Shy’s forthcoming long player project Raggamuffin SoundTape, which flawlessly switches through hip-hop, R&B, dancehall, breakbeat, and jungle to form an eclectic soundscape that melds seamlessly into a satisfying whole.


Ali Kulture - "The Fall"

Pakistan-born, San Jose-raised rapper Ali Kulture pops up on our list with a self-reflecting record entitled "The Fall." He explores his failings and shortcomings over a booming trap backdrop, but doesn't wallow in the pain as he is poised to rise above the challenges. "The Fall" is taken off Ali Kulture's latest EP titled E.P.I.C. Every Piece I Create


Focus The Truth - "We All In" feat. Styles P.

Focus The Truth teams up with legendary emcee Styles P on his latest banger "We All In" that explores the hustle mindset of the duo. Over a hard trap backdrop, we get to hear some street jewels while being entertained by the colorful animation.



Producer ShiShi teams up with LA-based R&B/pop act PXTN for an official remix of his song "L2LY". The producer blends a handful of styles on this colorful tune from eastern-styled percussions, funk, and boom bap, while PXTN's melodic vocals play the central role. A solid jam and a half.


Sara Diamond - "Ride"

Montreal's very own Sara Diamond pops back on our pages with a new soulful jam titled "Ride." The smoothed voiced singer delivers a euphoric track saturated with soulful eminence, sublime vocals, and heartfelt lyrics. Another gem for your ears.


ZED KENZO - "Drop It"

Experimental hip-hop act ZED KENZO once again shows us how unorthodox she can get on her new song "Drop It." She packs a punch with her energetic performance over a futuristic trap backdrop as she instructs her supporters to drop it. This is not for the fainthearted.


SHEE - "Something I Do"

To wrap up the list, SHEE channels the deepest regions of her soul on her new record "Something I Do" - a dynamic piece of art that weaves from heartfelt and rousing to solemn. Her ethereal vocals cut through the mix and shifting backdrops laid behind her, as she ponders the challenges of becoming an artist in every sense of the word. For SHEE the internal struggle never ends, but fortunately she is far from giving up.



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments