2018-11-28T12:00:41-05:00 2018-11-28T11:52:52-05:00

DJ Devastate is remembered on new posthumous project 'In Recollection' LP

Coalmine Records and Swedish label  Counterweight Records have teamed up to celebrate the wonderful life of late Swedish-born DJ and producer DJ Devastate, who passed away in March 2018. The result is a 12 track body of work titled 'In Recollection', which showcases both sides of DJ Devastate as he cooks behind the boards and the wheels of steel. The project is also divided into 2 sides; the Coalmine and the Counterweight sides paying respect to the vintage cassette arrangement of yesteryear. 

Musically, there is more than enough gems to go around. The LP features El Da Sensei's straight-fire flow on the funky "Show Stoppa," while Dev cuts up the hook on the Max I Million remix of "Perfect Timing" by C.L. Smooth & Skyzoo. Some other notable joints include the hard-nosed "Most Confident" with Wildchild & MED and the notably grimy ode to Brooklyn "Crime After Crime" helmed by rapper Illa Ghee, an artist that the late Devastate always wanted to have worked with. 

Hit the play button and celebrate Dev's life via the solid records he gave us.



Coalmine Side:
01. Show Stoppa (feat. El Da Sensei) [prod. by DJ Devastate]
02. Perfect Timing (Max I Million Remix) [feat. C.L. Smooth & Skyzoo]
03. Crime After Crime (feat. Illa Ghee) [prod. by DJ Devastate]
04. Most Confident (feat. Wildchild & MED) [prod. by Create & Devastate]
05. Show Stoppa (J57 Remix) [feat. El Da Sensei & J57]
06. Show Stoppa (Instrumental)

Counterweight Side:
01. I Rap Black (feat. Chuck D, Bishop Lamont & Mykill Miers) [prod. by Max I Million]
02. Medicine (feat. ADL) [prod. by DJ Devastate & Segerfalk]
03. Moves To Make (feat. Baby Blak) [prod. by DJ Devastate]
04. Feel It (DJ Devastate Remix) [feat. Chapee]
05. Riddim Up On Em (prod. by prod. by DJ Devastate)
06. Feel It (Remix Instrumental)

Electronic · Hip-Hop


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments