2019-07-20T09:44:00-05:00 2019-07-20T02:15:24-05:00

JuneLyfe drops new project 'Lyfe or Def' and Video for "Hide N Seek (Shango Mask)" 

Roxbury, MA raised emcee JuneLyfe today drops his debut solo project 'Lyfe or Def'  and the visual for one of the standout tracks "Hide N Seek (Shango Mask)".  For those new to the emcee, JuneLyfe has been steadily building his resume while running with the crews Cool Collective Reps, Retrospek, and the Winners. Now on a solo mission, he aims to bring that raw, gritty uncut hip-hop back to the foreground on his new project.

The project kicks off with the aptly titled "Introduction" which flows into the dark textures of "Heights" where he flexes his verbal muscles. The following cut "In The City" is an exposé of some sorts where the listener is taken deep into the belly of the proverbial beast. On it, he shows the gritty streets in all its glory over an ominous trap beat that sounds like the score of an early 90s action flick. "Money Makin' Mitch" has a more solemn feeling and really grips the ears with its smoothness and more importantly JuneLyfe's unerring description of the hustle. His passion comes through when he's gritting his teeth on the menacing "Doin' The Most" with Planet Asia and Daniel Son, and when he's showing his funkier side on "What It Look Like." And then there's the life-contemplating lead single "Rotation" with SPNDA, REKS, and Dua (of Bad Rabbids). The musicality of Lyfe or Def also bleeds through on the instrumental interludes that provide a strong sense of cohesion.

June is sharing a new video for the standout track "Hide N Seek (Shango Mask)," a  gritty burner produced by Crypto. Director Trill Is Bliss complements the borderline-chilling vibe perfectly with VHS-stylized visuals that, in 2019, prove that certain styles are simply timeless—like Lyfe or Def itself. Check it out below.

Get Lyfe or Def on all DSPs here.

01. Intro
02. Heights (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
03. In the City (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
04. Money Makin Mitch (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
05. The Pinch (prod. by Vinyl Villain)
06. Hide-N-Seek (prod. by Clypto)
07. Clairvoyant (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
08. Doin the Most (feat. Planet Asia & Daniel Son) [prod. by Rah Intelligence]
09. Sea Breeze (Instrolude) [prod. by Vinyl Villain]
10. What It Look Like (prod. by Doc Da Mindbenda)
11. Wait a Minute (feat. Barrelz & Marv'E) [prod. by Barrelz]
12. No Worries (prod. by Raw Minerals)
13. Rotation (feat. Spnda, REKS & Duaof Bad Rabbits) [prod. by Doc Da Mindbenda]
14. Surreal (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
15. Sound of Colours (Outro) [prod. by Rah Intelligence]

Connect with  JuneLyfe : Soundcloud | Facebook | Twitter |Spotify | Instagram

Hip-Hop · Music Videos · Rap


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.