2019-02-13T14:15:35-05:00 2019-04-03T14:19:01-05:00

Ezra Collective announce new album with electrifying single "Quest for Coin"

One of the most exciting groups in the sprawling world of jazz has announced a release date for their debut album entitled You Can't Steal My Joy. The burning London five-piece Ezra Collective has delivered the news in conjunction with the single "Quest for Coin," a second track from the upcoming LP that will drop on April 26. As a follow up to the 2017 EP Juan Pablo: The Philosopher, the new album will showcase the group's signature eclectic sound as well as some U.K. rising stars including Jorja Smith, Loyle Carner, and KOKOROKO.  

With "Quest for Coin," no guests are needed as the core group shines on the fiery track. It begins with drummer Femi Koleoso's furious beat, which is soon joined by Joe Armon-Jones on keys, Dylan Jones on trumpet, James Mollison on saxophone, and TJ Koleoso with some throbbing bass tones. Femi Koleoso leads the group and describes the track as being about, "the pursuit of money, but not losing your soulfulness in the process." The music strikes this balance with a somewhat frenetic feel established by the drums mixed with the lush harmonies and emotive horn lines, peaking with Mollison's dynamic solo.

Ezra Collective is at the forefront of crafting modern instrumental arrangements while paying homage to classic jazz traditions and pulling influences from a wide range of more accessible sources. Along with the previously released "Reason in Disguise," "Quest for Coin" shows that the group is pushing the boundaries of jazz and helping carry the music into the future.

Preorder You Can't Steal My Joy here. Ezra Collective will be touring Europe and the U.S.A. this spring, with tickets here.

Connect with Ezra Collective: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Spotify

Afrobeat · Dancehall · Feature · Funk · Hip-Hop · Jazz · R&B


Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.