2018-10-31T12:45:40-04:00 2018-10-31T12:55:54-04:00

Thundercat teams up with Flying Lotus and BADBADNOTGOOD in "King of the Hill"

Brainfeeder, the experimental record label and brainchild of Flying Lotus, is in the midst of releasing singles off their upcoming compilation album— Brainfeeder X. Yesterday, the third track from the project was released, titled “King of the Hill.” The song is by the master bass-guitarist and long-time Brainfeeder associate, Thundercat. An appropriate drop for the week of Halloween, the track kicks off with a spooky introduction layered with ominous chords and quiet string instrumentation. His falsetto harmonies form the background of the track and in typical Thundercat fashion, the song is layered with complex jazz-inspired riffs from piano, guitar, and bass instruments.

"King of the Hill" features BADBADNOTGOOD and Flylo, a combination that leaves your mouth watering for more tracks from Brainfeeder X. Flylo's remix of Brandon Coleman's track "Walk Free," has been out as of last month, and a classic Ross From Friends track dropped last week titled, "Squaz." In celebration of the label's 10th anniversary, the 2 volume project will have 36 tracks, 22 of them unreleased, and will feature the likes of ThundercatTOKiMONSTA, TeebsMr. Oizo, and more. The full tracklist for the project is included here:

Vol. 1:

01 Teebs: “Why Like This?”
02 Jeremiah Jae: “$easons”
03 Lapalux: “Without You” [ft. Kerry Leatham]
04 Iglooghost: “Bug Thief”
05 TOKiMONSTA: “Fallen Arches”
06 Miguel Baptista Benedict: “Phemy”
07 Matthewdavid: “Group Tea” [ft. Flying Lotus]
08 Martyn: “Masks”
09 Mr. Oizo: “Ham”
10 Daedelus: “Order of the Golden Dawn”
11 Jameszoo: “Flake”
12 Taylor McFerrin: “Place in My Heart” [ft. RYAT]
13 MONO/POLY: “Needs Deodorant”
14 Thundercat: “Them Changes”
15 DJ Paypal: “Slim Trak VIP”
16 Thundercat: “Friend Zone (Ross From Friends Remix)”
17 Brandon Coleman: “Walk Free (Flying Lotus Remix)”

Vol. 2:

01 Thundercat: “King of the Hill” [ft. BADBADNOTGOOD & Flying Lotus]
02 Lapalux: “Opilio”
03 Ross From Friends: “Squaz”
04 Georgia Anne Muldrow: “Myrrh Song”
05 Dorian Concept: “Eigendynamik”
06 Louis Cole: “Thinking”
07 Iglooghost: “Yellow Gum”
08 WOKE: “The Lavishments of Light Looking” [ft. George Clinton]
09 PBDY: “Bring Me Down” [ft. Salami Rose Joe Louis]
10 Jeremiah Jae: “Black Salt”
11 Flying Lotus: “Ain’t No Coming Back” [ft. Busdriver]
12 Miguel Atwood-Ferguson: “Kazaru”
13 Taylor Graves: “Goku”
14 Little Snake: “Delusions”
15 Strangeloop: “Beautiful Undertow”
16 MONO/POLY: “Funkzilla” [ft. Seven Davis Jr]
17 Teebs: “Birthday Beat”
18 Moiré: “Lisbon”
19 Locust Toybox: “Otravine”

Connect with Thundercat: Spotify | Apple Music | Youtube

Connect with Brainfeeder: Website | Twitter



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments