2018-07-27T13:41:55-04:00 2018-07-27T12:29:52-04:00

Phat Kat unveils "World Premiere," an unreleased gem produced by J Dilla

Detroit hip-hop veteran Phat Kat is celebrating the impending re-release of his phenomenal 2007 album Carte Blanche by gifting us with an unreleased J Dilla produced gem titled "World Premiere."

"World Premiere" has a very quintessential hip-hop vibe with its raw, stripped down production. The track was actually recorded back in 1996 when Phat Kat and Dilla used to be a duo by the name 1st Down. From first listen you can hear a young Phat Kat gaining his chops on the microphone with his signature booming vocals and unorthodox style. Also, you can tell that this ripped-from-the-cassette banger is bursting with life and personality on all fronts with it's analogue/gritty vibe.

Fun fact: They were actually signed as a duo to Payday at the time of their first release, and were label mates with a young Jay Z, Showbiz & A.G., and Jeru The Damaja, among others. “World Premiere” is now available for stream and download through all major digital retailers, and is one of two Dilla-produced bonus tracks on the Carte Blanche re-release. . Album Pre-Order here.


01. Nasty Ain’t It 

02. Get It Started 

03. My Old Label 

04. Cold Steel (feat. Elzhi) 

05. Danger (feat. T3 & Black Milk) 

06. Vessels (feat. Truth Hurts) 

07. Lovely (feat. Melanie Rutherford) 

08. Cash Em Out (feat. Loe Louis) 

09. Game Time 

10. Survival Kit 

11. Nightmare (feat. Guilty Simpson) 

12. Hard Enuff (feat. Fat Ray) 

13. True Story Pt. 2 

14. Don’t Nobody Care About Us 

15. World Premiere (Bonus Track)

16. It Don’t Get No Liver Than This (feat. La Peace) (Bonus Track)

Connect with Phat Kat:  Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Hip-Hop · Rap


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments