2018-06-29T11:07:13-04:00 2018-06-29T11:07:13-04:00

The Slice, Episode 7 [Urban Feature]

There are some of us dedicated to rummaging the inner regions of the web in search of that good alternative urban music and serving it directly to music lovers. This initiative is what we call "The Slice" at EARMILK. Every fortnight we share with you ten new ear-grabbing songs from genres ranging across hip-hop, grime, soul, afrobeat/pop and dancehall. So let us do the digging for you while you sit back and relax to some brilliantly crafted music from around the globe.

1. LOONY - "Warm Weather"

Toronto-based R&B act LOONY helps kick off this week's edition with a summertime ode titled "Warm Weather" (Produced by Akeel Henry). A smooth record that displays the act's alluring vocals over a soulful/hip-hop tinged backdrop. The video exudes the summer vibe as well with its colorful aesthetic that would keep everyone reminiscing on those warm days. Available on Spotify and Apple Music  

2. Bikini Trill - "Smoke A Jay & Watch Yourself Dance"

Formed in 2016 by vocalist Frex (Lauren Johnson), bassist Kourosh Poursalehi, and guitarist Tony Stern, Bikini Trill are an indie-surf pop trio from Los Angeles, California. Their latest output is the island reggae influenced record titled " Smoke A Jay & Watch Yourself Dance". Just as the title suggests, the record exudes a very relaxing and soothing energy throughout. Driven by thick reggae guitar riffs, dreamy strings, and head nodding drums, Frex adds that extra touch with her powerful and super emotive vocal performance. This track is has nothing but fresh written all over it.

Currently, the band is celebrating their second mini-tour at SXSW in Austin, Texas and are gearing up to tour with Coast Modern and Mikey Mike- playing the House of Blues San Diego, The Crescent Ballroom in Phoenix, Arizona, and The Troubadour in West Hollywood, California.  " Smoke A Jay & Watch Yourself Dance" is taken from their recently released EP Wassup, We Good?

3. Satya - "Maybe We Should"

Up and coming Montreal Pop/R&B singer and songwriter Satya debuts her single "Maybe We Should" and its accompanying music video. The record is an infectious synth-heavy dance-pop offering about “a personal story of love at first sight”. Armed with a warm, commanding vocal, Satya delivers a brilliant performance that raises the ante with a simple yet catchy chorus. The video directed by award-winning Canadian video director Olivier Picard for Parce Que Films approaches the song's premise from a more artistic route. Straying away from the regurgitated overly sexed up images, the visuals are more symbolic than anything else.

4. HASEEB - "Slow"

Rising emcee Haseeb takes some time to dwell on life on this mellow record titled "Slow". On the track, he encourages the listener to pump the brakes and appreciate life so as not to let it pass you by while you hustle. In other words, It seems the faster you live, the faster death may catch up to you. You can get it on Spotify

5. Datta Boy - "Keep Drinking"

We received another poignant record on the list, this time from LA-based act Datta Boy. The record in question "Keep drinking" is thought-provoking as it looks at the life of an individual who is down on his luck and his only coping mechanism is the bottom of the bottle. He blames the world for his problems and yields to his addiction resulting in fatal consequences.

The visual was directed by Jose "No Face" Quintanilla and brings the story close to him. This is something each and every one of us can relate to.

6. Phat Kat - "It Don't Get No Liver Than This"

Detroit MC Phat Kat drops an unreleased track produced by J Dilla and featuring La Peace, to announce the reissue of his 2007 Carte Blanche album. The vintage sounding record sees the rap veteran deliver his usual gruff, in your face raps while his partner La Peace steps into the forefront with his smooth, malleable flow. Originally released in 2007, Phat Kat’s 2nd studio album “Carte Blanche” is getting a re-release on July 27th via Below System Records. The deluxe edition will include 2 new bonus tracks both produced by J Dilla.

7. Drew Scott - "Simple"

Two times Grammy nominated producer and singer-songwriter Drew Scott switches the vibe on the list with a groovy record titled "Simple". A solid blend of soul/electro funk and Scott's sultry vocals to wrap things up. The soul bouncing visual was shot and directed by Josh Harms (JZH Films) and inspired by Radiohead's 1997 hit “No Surprises”. “I love how vulnerable Thom Yorke was in that video,” says Drew Scott. “I’m accepting that vulnerability now with my artistry.

"Simple" is off his latest Places I’ve Ever Been project. Volume 3 is the final installment to the self-produced series by the artist who has worked with the likes of Teyana Taylor, Zendaya, Bridget Kelly, Luke James, Fantasia Barrino, Nick Jonas and Jake Miller to name a few. 

8. Akira Gautama - "King Cobra"

Experimental beat maker Akira Guatama's newest record "King Cobra" is a pure audio delight. Blending boom-bap elements, jazz vibes and lo-fi aesthetics, the record is a solid display of what the man can come up with.

The video teaser of"King Cobra" is a 3d future-wave color scheme, made by UK 3d Artist and Animator Mark Kirton. "King Cobra" is taken from his recently released EP titled Other Realities.

9. Collie Buddz - "Love & Reggae"

The reggae veteran Collie Buddz comes through with another solid jam in the form of his newest single "Love & Reggae". The summery tinged record has a soothing island vibe that is pure from the jump. He is joined on the record by vocalist Syreeta who adds that extra sonorous spice into the mix. This is that record for everyone to sit back, relax and forget about the stress that comes with being alive.

10. Latoya Jane - "Everything"

We finish up this week's feature with an inspirational cut from Toronto based act LaToya Jane. The record titled "Everything" is a testament to her strong will and determination to rise above the hurdles and challenges life may throw in her way. The video tells the story of her journey growing up in a rough area of Toronto and into the powerful female artist she is today. Having experienced the rough life growing up in a tough neighborhood, she eventually channeled all the energy into her music during her stint in a female correctional facility. "Everything" is taken from her newest EP Grown.

If you dug what you heard, you can revisit our previous episodes of "The Slice" here

Future R&B · Main Stage · R&B


Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] more with another banger titled “Bounce It” which serves as a follow up to his lead single “Love & Reggae”. This new single follows a more energetic route as the multi-faceted producer taps into the […]