2017-07-10T16:41:06-04:00 2017-07-10T16:41:06-04:00

Parquet Courts' Andrew Savage goes solo on "Winter In The South"

[soundcloud url="https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/332144421" params="auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true" width="100%" height="450" iframe="true" /]

Parquet Courts frontman Andrew Savage has just announced his first solo album under his own name (stylized as A. Savage), Thawing Dawn. "Winter In The South", the first single from Savage's project, is a slice of Texas country, with a driving desert rhythm and a more singer-songwriter focus. Some twanging guitar and saxophone round out the song. It's the first new material from Savage since last April's Parquet Courts album Human Performance. Savage notes the purpose behind the stylizing of his name by saying in a press release, “I am an uncivilized member of modern civilization--I’m just a savage.” 

If this single is any indication, we'll be hearing a more stripped back and traditional set of tunes, leaning more country than anything Parquet Courts has ever done. Members of Woods, Ultimate Painting, PC Worship, EZTV, and Psychic TV contribute to the record as well. Check the tracklist and artwork below. Thawing Dawn is out October 8th.

Thawing Dawn:

01 Buffalo Calf Road Woman
02 Eyeballs
03 Wild Wild Horses
04 Indian Style
05 What Do I Do
06 Phantom Limbo
07 Winter in the South
08 Ladies From Houston
09 Untitled
10 Thawing Dawn

Connect with Parquet Courts: Website | YouTube

Alternative · Country


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments