2011-12-24T15:43:37-05:00 2011-12-26T01:42:15-05:00

EARMILK Presents: Weekend Selector - KRL (WKND03)

The weekend has landed and all that matters now is clubs, drugs, pubs and parties. You've got 48 hours off the 9-5, it's time to unbutton your hustle and breathe vigor back into life. Whether it be through losing your soul on the dance floor or grooving to it, we have your soundtrack covered. The EARMILK Weekend Selector, an exclusive guest mix series where we invite the latest budding talent from behind the booth to usher you through all the boozie and jam. From your morning bedside to tonight's evening social, your weekend selector is here to fill a void in good taste and allow fresh connections to flow vicariously.

(WKND03) EARMILK Presents: Weekend Selector - KRL
[soundcloud url="http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/31519576?secret_token=s-e5fAe" params="show_comments=false&auto_play=false&color=000000" width="100%" height="81" ]

London is burning with talent and it bellows out of the house of Wolf Music's KRL. A freshman to the scene, KRL has sowed his seeds with a high profile of remixes and originals that have been marked with a stamp of approval by the who's who of the deep house genre. This weekend he shows us why with an hour long tape that goes back to the drawing board and teaches us where the sound pieces into the future. Keep an ear out for four on the floor bliss dished out in low pass finesse and a wake of seductive phasers in tracks by Klick and Mic Newman. What really makes these minutes shine is the clever use of live effects that add rather than damage, a competence honed by the very few behind the decks.

It's no surprise that the spotlight of this selection is tailored to the man himself. Forthcoming on Wolf, "There is Nothin You Cant Teach Me" sounds like a lovesick Amy Winehouse moaning to reverberated basslines boxed in a glass house. The liberation begins with "Decay", a song for the skies sampling steamy soul recordings with a breeze of chilling synths that flaunt a fresh look we all fiend for. Released earlier this month, you can pick up KRL's latest work along with this mix to clue in on what gusto house has to offer in the coming new year. Tracklist on the jump, class is in session.


01. Vakula - Track 2 (Original Mix): Firecracker Recordings
02. Klick - Bump (Original Mix): CDR
03. Mic Newman - Recorded In The Garage (Original Mix): murmur
04. Vance & Susanne - I Cant Live Without You (Revenge Edit): Z Records
05. KRL - There Is Nothin You Cant Teach Me (Original Mix): Wolf Music
06. Lovebirds - Keep Coming (Axel Boman Remix): Freerange
07. Kenton Slash Daemon - Daemon (Original Mix): Tartelet
08. Cuthead - The Sinner (Original Mix): Uncanny Valley
09. KRL - Decay (Original Mix): Wolf Music
10. Manuel Tur - Foolin' (Original Mix): Delusions of Grandeur
11. Byron Stingley - Testify (Soulfuric Dub): Nervous Old Skool
12. Fingers Inc. - Im Strong (Instrumental): R&S Records
13. Gerry Read - Narry (Original Mix): Fourth Wave
14. Iron Curtis - Perception (Original Mix): Morris Audio
15. 2AM FM - Electronic Justice (Original Mix): 2008 Spectral Sound
16. Hundred20 - Upper Alley (Original Mix): MCDE US

Electro · Exclusive


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.