2020-01-06T15:35:16-05:00 2020-01-06T12:54:43-05:00

Dream-pop outfit Sonic Blume shower us with the reveries of yesterday on “Raincoat”

Asbury Park, NJ dream-poppers Sonic Blume dropped their new single “Raincoat” just ahead of the new year. It served as their third single of 2019 following the releases of “Pink Boots” and “Aubrey.”

“Raincoat” would fit nicely next in the Captured Tracks’ catalogue. It has the languidness of early Wild Nothing, the cutesy synth-pop prowess of Craft Spells, and the jangly guitar melodies of Beach Fossils. However, despite stark comparisons, Sonic Blume have created a dream-pop world of their own, where their melodic tendencies flow in the direction of an ethereal soundscape to bask within. “Raincoat” brings upon the emotional showers of iridescent tones, lamenting bass lines, and reflective lyricism that enthralls, guides, and lifts you to the spiritual places you never thought were there.

Formed in 2015, Sonic Blume is comprised of guitarist/lead vocalist Max Connery, bassist Andrew Phelan, guitarist Chase Landgrebe, and drummer Danny Murray. Since inception, they’ve shared two EPs, 2017’s self-titled and 2018’s Beach Karma as well as three standalone singles last year.

Connect with Sonic Blume: Facebook | Instagram | Spotify

Dreamwave · Indie · Indie Pop


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments