2017-11-03T12:41:50-04:00 2017-11-03T12:14:19-04:00

Watch the conscious "Maria También" video from Khruangbin's incoming second album "Con Todo El Mundo"

Unique globetrotting Texan trio Khruangbin have announced this week that their hotly anticipated sophomore album Con Todo El Mundo is set for release 26th January 2018 on Night Time Stories. Formed of Laura Lee on bass, Mark Speer on guitar, and Donald “DJ” Johnson on drums; Khruangbin’s sounds are rooted in the deepest waters of world music infused with classic soul, dub and indie psychedelia.  The news comes with a triumphant and characteristically eclectic new single and conscious accompanying visuals "Maria También" above.  

The video for "Maria También" tells the story of Iranian women prior to the revolution of 1979. Celebrating their creativity, freedom and ability to express themselves, the video shows a side of women in the Middle East that often isn't seen in the Western world. The women in the video are all part of a large network of artists, singers, dancers and songwriters who have been either exiled or silenced since the revolution. With the video, Khruangbin hopes to bring these remarkable women back into the spotlight and honour the artistry of silenced women everywhere.

Though outwardly unassuming (but no less stylish), the trio’s diverse backgrounds aligned with a shared worldview and passion are at the heart of what makes Khruangbin tick. Their desire in representing international culture is notable given the climate and agenda in certain areas of the US. In some respects it's throwing back a compliment by reinterpreting artists of other countries reinterpretations of US-based music, which again drew influence from the world. Throughout ‘Con Todo El Mundo’; Laura Lee’s melodic low-end theory, Mark’s lyrical, free-role guitar lines, and DJ’s ever-steady, ever-ready backbeat form something greater than their parts. A statement that crosses languages, ages, cultures and borders.

The trio continue to play live around the world throughout 2018 starting with a UK tour to follow the album release. A vibe-synchronous soul-unit travelling the planet, honing their craft, absorbing the sights, sounds and feels from cultures across the globe, processing them through the Khruangbin filter and gifting the result back...with all the world. 

1. Cómo Me Quieres
2. Lady And Man
3. Maria También
4. August 10
5. Cómo Te Quiero
6. Shades Of Man
7. Evan Finds The Third Room
8. A Hymn
9. Rules
10. Friday Morning

Upcoming 2018 UK tour dates:

Sunday 4th February: Centre for Contemporary Arts, Glasgow

Monday 5th February: The Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester

Tuesday 6th February: Bierkeller, Bristol

Thursday 8th February: Electric Brixton, London

Friday 9th February: The Haunt, Brighton


Connect with Khruangbin: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Night Time Stories



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments