2017-08-02T10:35:41-04:00 2017-08-02T10:36:31-04:00

Lane 8's This Never Happened will expand with compilation 'Root to Branch'

In June 2016, Lane 8 launched his own label. After years of cultivating his sound through self-released and intermittent label-released tracks and EP's, the San Francisco artist set out to make his mark on the electronic music scene more focused and solidified through the creation of This Never Happened. A holistic approach to a label - with events, a mantra and of course music - Lane 8's message became clear. But since then, he's only released music of his own on the imprint. Now that's all about to change.

As we've learned with his past new ventures, Lane 8 is vocal, and transparent, with his new endeavors:

"When I first started making my seasonal mixtapes, I was just hunting for the best possible music I could find on the internet. I had little profile, so nobody bothered to send me their demos or upcoming music from their labels. My only option was to work with music I could buy online, and I tried to find stuff that moved me emotionally but wasn't always necessarily the most popular track of the moment. 

I remember the feeling of hearing The Magician play my first ever Lane 8 track in his legendary Magic Tape series like it was yesterday. I couldn't stop smiling for about a week! I kept replaying the mix over and over again, not fully believing or comprehending what was happening. Not long after, Jody Wisternoff started playing my music in his  mixes, I signed to Anjunadeep, and then things started really taking off for me. 

As my profile has grown over the years, more and more artists have sent their music to me, in hopes that I would play it in my seasonal mixtapes. As my mixtapes have become more popular, the artists whose tracks I do play tend to write me afterwards to say how much it means to them that I support their music. It all reminds me of the feeling I had when I first heard my song in that Magic Tape. I think it's time for me to give that same feeling to artists, to give their music that support that meant so much to me a few years ago. 

With that in mind, I am extremely excited to announce three new signings for my label, This Never Happened. Anderholm, Khåen and Limara may not be names you're familiar with yet. But all three of these artists have been sending me absolutely incredible music over the last year, and I think it's time for me to give their best tunes a wider platform. You may recognize these tracks - they're THOSE IDs from the spring and summer mixtapes that everyone has been trying to figure out for awhile now ;)

Limara - Nostalgia is the first track we are releasing from a compilation called Root to Branch which will feature 2 of the best tracks from each of the 3 artists mentioned above. I hope you enjoy it!"

The first track from the first edition of the Root To Branch compilation series has dropped, entitled "Nostalgia." Coming from UK artist Limara, This Never Happened is slowly building its army. And from the compilation's title and the music featured, we know organic deep house is its direction. Root To Branch Vol. 1 will be out August 25th. 


  1. Lane 8 ‘Fingerprint’ (Anderholm Remix)
  2. Anderholm ‘Nocturne’
  3. Khåen ‘Kyrie'
  4. Khåen ‘Whims’ 
  5. Limara ‘Nostalgia’ 
  6. Limara ‘Keep It’

Connect with Lane 8: Facebook | SoundCloud | Twitter

Dance · Deep House


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments