2014-02-24T12:58:41-05:00 2014-02-24T19:14:12-05:00

Catching up with Housemeister [Interview + Exclusive Mix]

Producing innovative sounds for over a decade now under labels like BPitch Control, BNR, and his own respective All You Can Beat label, Martin Böhm - also known as Housemeister - has yet to take a break from his own label management and Instagram account while touring by himself and with the boys from Boys Noize Records. Following a year with numerous releases and shows around more than fifty countries worldwide, the Berlin DJ and producer has yet to show any signs of slowing down.

Before his highly anticipated debut at Boiler Room February 26th, taking place with  Boys Noize, Jackson, SCNTST, and Strip Steve, we got the opportunity to catch up with him and give you a little sneak peek at what to expect wih a special mix he made for us promoting the new album for TESLA286, which will be released on April 28th through AYCB featuring ten  tracks mixed by the house master himself.

EARMILK: Housemeister! How's it going? How is the New Year treating you so far?
HOUSEMEISTER: Very good! I started with a month vacation in Asia and now I'm back in Berlin, fully recharged and enjoying the sunniest winter ever. I'm looking forward to my first Boiler Room set February 26th for a BNR showcase, taking care of my label, and managing to work a lot in the studio.


EM: 2013 was an eventful year for you was it not? Touring and producing numerous records and albums it seems like you were pretty busy. What were some of your favorite moments during 2013?
HM: 2013 was a very good year. A lot of things happened. I released one album OP-1 on Boys Noize Records in May and another album Game Over in December (which was in Mixmag "album of the month"). I made one track with Boys Noize for the DanceMania tribute compilation and I restarted my AYCB label, releasing four Housemeister EP´s and three others with Dave Tarrida.
EM: Now that you re-launched your label AYCB do you have new/current signings or projects that you are excited to work on?
HM: This year AYCB released already two EP´s. One Detroit-techno EP from Fabian Feyerabendt of Toktok. I've know him for a long time and we had already made EP´s together since 2005. I signed another great artist - Deadwalkman from Bogota. His BGTA EP is really good! I´m still getting great feedbacks. But the best one comes April28th: TESLA286 – ZUKUNFT. I'm very proud to release this great oldschool electro album on AYCB. If you like Dopplereffekt, Kraftwerk or Drexciya, you'll love zukunft!!! Also, Dave Tarrida is arriving next week back in Berlin and we got one week in my studio to finish the next EP before our gig together in my new residency at Suicide Club Berlin.
EM: OP-1 turned out to be a great success for you, were you surprised with the outcome and recognition the album received?
HM: No, not surprised, just happy =) I mean the op-1 album is something else. It was more of a concept album, not easy to play. For sure, I was scared before releasing it, but in the end it was all good.
EM: You made two albums using one small synthesizer and a game boy? What inspired you to do so?
HM: I love the challenge to finish something with just one piece, just with the less options you have. It makes your decisions easier, which way you go, because there is not 1 million possibilities. The op-1 is a very small pocket synthesizer direct from the future. It´s got everything inside to produce a full track like a synthesizer engine, a drum-machine, a sampler, amazing effects and a 4track virtual tape recorder. It even has a radio where you can sample from. So I was touring a lot in 2012 and I had it with me always. I programed everywhere and at the end it was an album - Perfect! The same with the Gameboy... I used the program Nanoloops and made the complete album on the road studio.
EM: You did a couple remixes last year, for artists like Daft Punk and Boys Noize. Any remixes you that you are currently working on that you are excited to release this year?
HM: I just finished my remix for my old friend Paul Kalkbrenner´s square1 from the Berlin Calling album. It´s very cool to get the chance to remix one of these. We are good friends since the early 90's and we were together on the same label BPitch Control in 2000. I also had a little part in the Berlin Calling movie, playing myself Djing at the Bar25. Haha, really funny times. Also I finished a remix for my new artist TESLA286, and for sure I am working on my new EP for BNR coming soon.
EM: What are you most excited for this year as far as touring and producing?
HM: This year in May I´m going to tour Asia and I just can´t await this. Also, then Feb 26th I´ll play first time at Boiler Room in our BNR showcase in Berlin with Boys Noize, Djedjotronic, Jackson and his computerband, Strip Steve and SCNTST, so that is exciting. Also, I'm thinking about a live act. We will see - I´m ready again. A lot of projects are coming which I cannot say yet!
EM: Can you tell us a little bit about your exclusive mix you did for EARMILK?
HM: Yes, sure. I made a special old school electro mix, using a lot of tracks of the upcoming TESLA286 album with old legendary tracks of Kraftwerk, Dopplereffekt, Tuxedomoon, Anthony Rother, and newer from Djedjotronic. You basically have the chance to listen the Tesla tracks exclusive before the release. I'm very happy with this mix and I did not prepare anything. I just put the the first 2 tracks, went with the flow and enjoyed.

[soundcloud url="https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/133177203" params="auto_play=false&hide_related=false&visual=true" width="100%" height="450" iframe="false" /]


01. Umlaufbahn
02. Tesla’s Oscillator
03. Radius
04. Zukunft
05. Frequency Society
06. Magnetic Fields
07. Robot Love
08. Wurmloch
09. Time
10. Meteroite Over Pankow
11. Telepathie


Electro House · Feature · House · Interview


Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 years ago

typo in the title...