2020-08-21T12:28:47-04:00 2020-08-21T13:03:11-04:00

The Slice, Episode 63 [Hip-Hop + R&B]

Welcome to another exciting episode of The Slice, episode 63 to be precise and without further ado, let's jump into the newest releases from around the globe.

Emerging North Carolina based singer and guitarist Grey Oakes tells a tale of the typical "sad boy." The self-produced record is as nostalgic as they come but more importantly, he looks at mental health from a relationship aspect alongside fellow singer Julius Tunstall. Swiss-born and US-based producer and composer Tuplain's "Mashed Potatoes" is an instrumental piece that fuses funk, jazz, and deep house elements. From the bright horns, warm keys, and four-to-the-floor drum groove, Tuplain is all about keeping the dance floor packed till daybreak. The title is a reference to a dance move the late James Brown helped popularize.Lafayette Stokely takes us deep into his state of mind on his single "IWD." Backed by a solemn, bare-bones backdrop courtesy of Orlando based producer Ross Munroe, Stokely shares his hopes, dreams, and fears.

Next up is New Orleans singer and composer Gabrielle Cavassa who links up with jazz/R&B artist Braxton Cook on "Inside My Arms"—a heartfelt record that explores denial in love. The fusion of classic R&B and jazz is impeccable as drummer and producer Jamison Ross layered the perfect backdrop for the duo as they deliver the ultimate unrequited love story on wax.
Beninois-Ghanaian producer, DJ, and artist RVDICAL THE KID and Canadian/Nigerian singer Nonso Amadi team up for a lo-fi soul jam that is filled with earworm melodies. Amadi is in his element here and delivers his with his characteristic silky vocals and honest lyrics about love and all the drama that comes with the territory.

British, East London R&B and Soul singer Sienna Hamilton reflects on a fledgling relationship on her single "You Used To." Armed with a gripping raspy vocal tone and backed by a solemn guitar arrangement, Hamilton looks back on the past and ponders on the mistakes she made. "Madness" still keeps us in the UK as Milli Major, Deepee, Tion Wayne, and Big Narstie team up for a full posse cut ripe with heavy booming trap backdrop and solid street-savvy verses from all involved. The track is taken from the soundtrack from the indie film Major Paper. J.Lately's "Calling" is an anthemic single that explores the effects of information overload in this social media age. The track is off his new project, The Campfire EP. Zach Zoya goes for the jugular with a melodic machine gun flow on the Bougo produced "Le Cap." The Montrealer puts his 10 toes down as he spits “...Came in this bitch to beat the best...” within the very first second of the song.

Houston artist Stockz taps Dreamville's Lute for the remix of his previously released single "MANHATTAN." The laidback, moody track is about making necessary moves in order to survive in this dog eat dog world. New York native, LuisOne Lou Rivera Jr. pours his emotions on wax with the heartfelt single "Goin Thru It." The piano-driven beat only further conveys his deeper story of struggle and determination.

"Opp Down Pt. 2 - [Fuego Freestyle]" takes us down to Brooklyn with emerging drill rapper Blizz Vito who teams up with his fellow drill collaborators U.K. drill producers 808 Melo and K.O.T.C for this bass-heavy single. Like the title suggests, Blizz Vito is ready to turn the heat up to the max. Eddy Fuego's "In Retrospect" is a profound discourse on the missteps of a conflicted young adult who is struggling to find his footing in this world we live in. Fuego breaks many stereotypes on this heartfelt tune and looks at his flaws from a practical lens. Rhomar Jessy helps close out this week's episode with a fun-filled hearty track he calls "Uppercut" where he talks about he overcame his personal struggles. The insightful and thought-provoking lyricism is held up by an uplifting beat that leaves listeners with something to ponder to. 

Check out previous edition of The Slice here.

For a full tracklist of this week's featured artists:

  • Rhomar Jessy -“Uppercut”
  • Eddy Fuego - "In Retrospect"
  • Blizz Vito x 808 Melo x K.O.T.C. - "Opp Down Pt. 2 - (Fuego Freestyle)"
  • Grey Oakes x Julius Tunstall - "sad boy"
  • Tuplain - "Mashed Potatoes"
  • Lafayette Stokely - "IWD"
  • Gabrielle Cavassa - "Inside My Arms" (feat. Braxton Cook)
  • Rvdical The Kid - "Often" (feat. Nonso Amadi)
  • Sienna Hamilton - "You Used To"
  • Milli Major x Deepee x Tion Wayne x Big Narstie - "Madness"
  • J.Lately - "Calling"
  • Zach Zoya - "Le Cap"
  • Stockz x Lute - "MANHATTAN" (Remix)
  • One Lou - "Goin Thru It"
Feature · Hip-Hop · Indie · Main Stage · Rap


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments