2015-01-27T22:27:38-05:00 2015-01-29T14:17:39-05:00

Shlohmo gets "Buried" on upcoming True Panther debut, 'Dark Red'

The EP has been Henry Laufer's preferred method of release for the last few years; he's given us four since his last proper Shlohmo album, 2011's Bad Vibes.  Now he's revealed that a new album is imminent; on April 7 the Wedidit member releases Dark Red, his debut album for True Panther Sounds, who will release the album in connection with Wedidit.  Based on the malevolent lead track, "Buried," Dark Red is sure to be Laufer's darkest work to date.  Quotes from the producer only drive this point home, with Laufer suggesting similarities to metal music and describing the album as "Boards of Canada meets Burzum by the River Styx."  If that description doesn't give you a semi, you should probably see a doctor.

"Buried" is an absolutely punishing track, seven minutes of unrelenting pressure that seems to directly narrate the experience of being thrown in a hole and covered with a suffocating mountain of dirt.  Scary stuff, but Dark Red looks like it'll be some of Shlohmo's most exciting and adventurous work.  Check out the full Dark Red tracklist below.

[soundcloud url="https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/188010168" params="auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true" width="100%" height="450" iframe="true" /]

1. Ten Days of Falling
2. Meet Ur Maker
3. Buried
4. Emerge From Smoke
5. Slow Descent
6. Apathy
7. Relentless
8. Ditch
9. Remains
10. Fading
11. Beams





  • Wedidit / True Panther Sounds
  • 'Dark Red' out 4/7


Electronic · Experimental


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments