2020-07-17T15:19:11-04:00 2020-07-17T15:19:11-04:00

Whitney announces a new release of cover songs

It seems the Chicago-based indie rock band Whitney has a new album on the way. Set to release on August 14 via Secretly Canadian, Candid is a 10 song cover album featuring renditions of John Denver’s “Take Me Home, Country Roads” and SWV’s “Rain” - the latest cover is of “Hammond Song” by The Roches.

The series of covers released so far has showcased the band’s diverse range and creativity, allowing them to put their own flare to the original songs. See below for what other covers to expect.

Discussing the upcoming release in a statement, Whitney drummer and singer Julian Ehrlich said, “This could’ve been as simple as saying we really love these songs and we love our bandmates and making a covers record just felt right but it truly became an exploration into how we can evolve as a band going forward.”

Track List

01. Bank Head (Kelela)

02. A.M. A.M (Damien Jurado)

03. Take Me Home, Country Roads (John Denver) (feat. Waxahatchee)

04. High on a Rocky Ledge (Moondog)

05. Something Happen (Jack Arel)

06. Strange Overtones (David Byrne and Brian Eno)

07. Hammond Song (The Roches)

08. Crying, Laughing, Loving, Lying (Labi Siffre)

09. Rain (SWV)

10. Rainbows and Ridges (Blaze Foley)


Stream and purchase “Hammond Song” via Bandcamp, iTunes, and Spotify. 

Connect with Whitney: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram 

Cover · Indie · Rock


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.