2017-04-27T15:45:56-04:00 2017-04-27T15:45:56-04:00

The wait is over: Phoenix announce new album 'Ti Amo' + release single 'J-Boy'

It's been nearly four years since the release of Phoenix's pivotal album Bankrupt! and fans have been (impatiently) waiting for the band's return. Announcing a 33-date world tour a few months ago, the French-quartet have officially announced that their new album Ti Amo will be out June 9th and have released its first single, "J-Boy". 

The newest single sets the tone for the new record which, as stated by guitarist Laurent Brancowitz to the New York Times, is going to feel like "summer and Italian discos". "J-Boy" has the classic Phoenix synthy-rock sound and undeniable air of sexiness, thanks to frontman Thomas Mars' vocals. The track opens with a very Justice-esque synth riff and melts into infectious melodies that will have hips swaying for its 4-minute duration.

As for Ti Amo, Phoenix took to Zane Lowe's Beats 1 Radio show to announce full details. The record will only feature 10 tracks and focuses on "simple, pure emotions: love, desire, lust and innocence". The group has also said that the record is about "a fantasized version of Italy: a lost paradise made of eternal Roman summers (hyper-light, hyper-clarity, pistachio gelato), jukeboxes on the beach, Monica Vitti and Marcello Mastroianni, fearless desire and antique marble statues". See the full track list below.

Ti Amo:

1. J-Boy
2. Ti Amo
3. Tuttifrutti
4. Fior de Latte
5. Lovelife
6. Goodbye Soleil
7. Fleur de Lys
8. Role Model
9. Via Veneto
10. Telefono

Connect with Phoenix: Official website | Facebook | Twitter



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.