2016-10-20T18:40:39+00:00 2016-10-20T18:40:39+00:00

Jai Wolf and MNDR embrace the '80s with synthpop new single "Like It's Over", announces debut EP

Jai Wolf Fall 2016 Press Shot 1 - by Dash Grey

Up-and-comer Jai Wolf has teamed up with singer-songwriter-producer MNDR on a new song, "Like It's Over". After dabbling in a few genres on his way up, Jai Wolf seems to have landed on synthpop, as evidenced by the new single and his last release, "Drive" (featuring the Chain Gang of 1974). "Like It's Over" is a full embrace of that familiar '80s synthpop sound, but with MNDR's vocal accoutrements, which, at times, sound like other songstresses on the scene at the moment like Danish popstar .

"Like It's Over" is a sad song lyrically wrapped in an playful, synthed out production. At first, there are just chords and MNDR's voice, but by the time the chorus come around, synths are swirling throughout. Drums that will sound familiar to fans of Carly Rae Jepsen's latest album or other '80s throwbacks that have come out in the past year drop in during the chorus, packing an emotional punch on the low-end. The track reaches prime drama in the last minute or so as MNDR belts over layers on layers of synth and drum before everything cuts out.

"Like It's Over" is the lead single off Jai Wolf's debut EP, Kindred Spirits, out Nov. 18 on Mom+Pop.

Check out Jai Wolf on tour starting Nov. 2. (Full list of dates below.)

Wed. Nov. 2 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Fairmount

Thu. Nov. 3 – Toronto, ON @ Opera House

Fri. Nov. 4 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre

Sat. Nov. 5 – Chicago, IL @ Metro

Sun. Nov. 6 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue

Thu. Nov. 10 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre

Fri. Nov. 11 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge

Sat. Nov. 12 – Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory Concert House

Wed. Nov. 16 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue

Fri. Nov. 18 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox

Sat. Nov. 19 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom

Wed. Nov. 23 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater

Fri. Nov. 25 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory

Sat. Nov. 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Novo

Sun. Nov. 27 – San Diego, CA @ The Observatory North Park

Wed. Nov. 30 – Austin, TX @ Vulcan Gas Company

Thu. Dec. 1 – Dallas, TX @ Trees

Fri. Dec. 2 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall (Inside Downstairs)

Sat. Dec. 3 – New Orleans, LA @ Republic New Orleans

Sun. Dec. 4 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West

Wed. Dec. 7 – Boston, MA @ Paradise

Thu. Dec. 8 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club

Fri. Dec. 9 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Sat. Dec. 10 – New York, NY @ Terminal 5

 

Connect with Jai WolfSoundCloud | Facebook | Twitter

Connect with MNDR: SoundCloud | Facebook | Twitter

Tags:
· ·
Categories:
Indie · Indie Pop · Synth

Comments

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.